Bharat Online
Tourism in RajasthanRajasthan Rajastha Rajasthan Camel Safari
In this article, we tell you about the Rajasthani people and the main tribes of Rajasthan, India.

People of Rajasthan

People of RajasthanAccording to the census of 2001, the population of Rajasthan is 56.5 million. There is a birth based caste system in Rajasthan. However, the cast system now does not decide the profession of a person, leaving him/her with the career of choice. The people of Rajasthan are divided into various castes and sub-castes. A significant portion of the population of Rajasthan belongs to the Rajput clan. Rajputs were the former rulers of the princely state of Rajasthan. Even today, Rajasthan abounds in the legends of their bravery and chivalry. Rajputs follow the Vedic religion and worship Surya (sun), Lord Shiva and Lord Vishnu. Apart from the predominant Rajputs, the other castes found amongst Rajasthani people are:

Brahmins are a group of priestly people. They have the main occupation of worshipping and performance of religious rites.

The business community is generally referred to as the Vaishyas.

Other Castes
Apart from these castes, there are also a number of agricultural castes in Rajasthan. Depending on agriculture for their livelihood, these people come under the castes Jat, Gurjar, Mali, Kalvi, etc.

A number of tribes, having their own customs and traditions, are found in Rajasthan. Amongst the various tribes of Rajasthan, India, the most known one are:
  • Minas/Minawati (found in Alwar, Jaipur, Bharatpur and Dholpur)
  • Meo and Banjara (the traveling tribes)
  • Gadia Lohar (smiths)
  • Bhils (found in Bhilwara, Chittorgarh, Dungarpur, Banswara, Udaipur, and Sirohi)
  • Grasia (found in Mewar region)
  • Kathodi (found in Mewar region)
  • Sahariyas (found in Kota region)
  • Rabaris (cattle breeders, found in Marwar region)
  • Sansi
  • Kanjar.

The most famous community of Rajasthan consists of the Marwaris. Their main occupation relates to trading and business. Marwaris further include the sub castes, namely Mahajans, Sarawagis, Porals, Shrimals, Shrishrimals, Agarwals, Maheswaaris, Vijayvargias, Sunlas, Bohres, Pheriwalas, Baldias and Lohias.