Bharat Online
Tourism in AndhraCharminarTirupati TempleTirupati Temple

Andhra Pradesh Tourism
Located in Hyderabad, Osmania University is the seventh oldest university of India. Read about the renowned Osmania University.

Osmania University

Established In: 1918
Location: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh

Osmania University HyderabadOsmania University has been acknowledged as one of the oldest universities in India. Typified as a public university, Osmania University (OU) is located in the 'Pearl City' of Hyderabad. In 2001, this esteemed university was honored with five-star grade by the National Accreditation and Assessment Council (NAAC). The university has been working for over nine decades with the notion of 'Thamasoma Jyothirgamaya' (Lead me from darkness into light) and contributing to the academic, social and economic development of India.

Osmania University was established by Nawab Mir Osman Ali Khan in 1918. Another fact about this university is that it is one amongst the largest universities systems of the country, having no less than 3, 00,000 students in its campus and numerous affiliated colleges. Earlier, Osmania Medical College used to be the part of the same university, but now it is supervised by NTR Health University of Andhra Pradesh. Funded and managed by the government, Osmania is a non-profit university.

Here, admissions into engineering courses and doctoral programmes are done entirely on merit basis, which is assessed by National Entrance Examinations. Particularly known for its Engineering and Technology departments, Osmania University is identified for its high standards of teaching and research. The autonomous agencies of the Indian Government, like University Grants Commission (UGC) and Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), fund the research activities conducted by the University.

Perhaps Osmania University is the largest higher education system in the subcontinent, since it allures students not only from the country but from all parts of the world. The university offers programs in Humanities, Arts, Sciences, Social Sciences, Law, Engineering, Medicine, Technology, Commerce and Business Management, Information Technology and Oriental Languages. Some of its remarkable colleges are College of Arts and Sciences, College of Commerce and Business Management, College of Engineering and College of Technology.